Time for a hint, methinks…

24 03 2010

I’m still looking to give away one copy of my new collection ‘Rare Unsigned Copy‘, to the first perspicacious reader who can crack the name-pun inherent in ‘Martin A. Fairdig’, the chef from my story ‘Single Handed‘. Contest rules, if you need to see them, are here.

It’s been four days since the contest launched, and there have been several guesses made – none, however, which has hewn particularly close to the solution. Fair enough: it’s a quite obscure piece of wordplay, and I knew from the outset that people would find it a challenge. But to ensure that I’m not left holding an additional copy of the collection in perpetuity, I will today offer a hint, which enlarges upon a response I posted to an earlier guess. The pertinent part of my earlier response, here, is: “I find the five word sequence ‘or perhaps some foreign expression’ extremely heartening, because that is very much on the right track.”

And the hint?  Think of a country for which the inhabitant (not the nationality, not the country itself) could also be the name of an ingredient in a recipe.

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 03 2010
Monissa

The only one I can think of is Sweden but using them in a recipe? Ewww. No way.

24 03 2010
simonpetrie

Hmm. Some interesting reasoning…

25 03 2010
Thoraiya

That’s funny, I thought Fairdig could be verdig, and have something to do with the Muppet Show chef, but then I got distracted by the idea of digging for truffles.

Martin A Fairdig, eh?

*goes for a walk to have a think*

Thoraiya

25 03 2010
simonpetrie

Hmm. Muppet chef, eh? Hmmm. Interesting.

25 03 2010
Monissa

Swedish chef?

(grumbles at email notifications that don’t)

25 03 2010
simonpetrie

I would be interested to see where this line of reasoning takes you.

25 03 2010
Monissa

Nope, not getting anywhere other than “Embassy Chef Challenge”

Leave a Reply

