I don’t poem often

8 08 2013

… which is why I’m particularly pleased to report that my most serious effort at poetry in quite some years*, ‘At The Dark Matter Zoo’, has been accepted for The Stars Like Sand, an anthology of Australian speculative poetry edited by P S (Penelope) Cottier and Tim Jones.

In fact, I’m doubly pleased at the acceptance. Not only to I get a poem in what looks like it may well be a landmark Australian poetry anthology, but I also get to avoid the crushing experience of a poetry rejection from Ms Cottier. Over on the ACT Writers Centre blog, Penelope’s written a highly entertaining and thought-provoking post on her experience on the editorial side of the rejection hurdle, which you can–in fact, you should–read here.

* (Yes, regular visitors to the website might have encountered poetry here in recent months, but that’s been the work of Cynthia Mershark, and not something I can properly claim responsibility for. ‘At The DMZ’, however, is all my own work …)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

